Coding tools compared
Cursor
A full VS Code fork (not a plug-in), with "Tab" predictive multi-edit completion and an "Agent" mode for autonomous multi-file coding and terminal tasks. "Cloud Agents" run remotely in parallel.
Full-codebase semantic search paired with autonomous coding agents, for end-to-end feature building inside a familiar VS Code-like editor.
Since June 2025, billing moved from fixed request counts to usage-based/API-cost pricing — a shift confusing enough that Cursor issued refunds and a clarifying blog post. Bringing your own API key disables their Zero Data Retention guarantee.
No credit card required, but Cursor does not publish exact numeric caps — only "limited Agent requests" and "limited Tab completions." This vagueness is worth knowing going in.
Privacy Mode is opt-in, off by default. Without it, Cursor "may use and store data... to train our models." With it on: no training, zero data retention with model providers. SOC 2 Type II available on request.
GitHub Copilot
A VS Code/JetBrains extension (not a fork) with inline completions, a chat/agent panel, a standalone agentic Copilot CLI, and a "coding agent" that takes an assigned GitHub Issue and autonomously opens a pull request.
Native Issue-to-PR autonomous agent workflow tied directly into GitHub's repo, Actions, and review pipeline — the deepest git-native integration of any tool here.
As of June 2026, GitHub moved from premium-request-unit billing to token-based "AI Credits" at per-model API rates. No published context-window figure.
Launched with 2,000 completions/month plus 50 chat messages/month, no card required, choice of Claude 3.5 Sonnet or GPT-4o. The current chat/agent "AI Credits" allowance for free users is not clearly republished as of this writing.
Since a March 25, 2026 policy update, Free/Pro/Pro+ user data — inputs, outputs, and code context — is used for model training by default unless you opt out at github.com/settings/copilot → Privacy. Business and Enterprise are contractually excluded.
Replit
A browser-based cloud IDE with an integrated autonomous "Agent" that writes, runs, and deploys full-stack apps from a prompt, with a built-in database and hosting — no separate deploy step required.
True "idea to deployed app" in one browser tab for non-experts — nothing else on this page bundles generation, database, and hosting this tightly.
Replit itself describes Agent behavior as "probabilistic" — mistakes and re-runs burn more credits. Once monthly credits run out, billing falls back to pay-as-you-go. Hosting is Replit-native, a real form of lock-in unless you export your code.
No card required, includes an undisclosed amount of daily Agent credits and a built-in database, but you can publish only 1 project.
Free-tier requests may route through endpoints where training could be enabled by default; paid/commercial customers are covered by an agreement stating Replit won't train on customer content except as permitted. Enterprise gets Zero Data Retention endpoints.
v0
A chat-based generator for full-stack React/Next.js UI and apps (Tailwind, shadcn/ui), with a visual "Design Mode," one-click Vercel deploy, and GitHub sync.
The fastest, most polished path from prompt to production-ready React/Next.js components, especially for teams already deploying on Vercel.
Token-metered pricing makes cost unpredictable for complex builds; the tight coupling to Vercel favors that hosting platform specifically.
$5 in included monthly credits, but a hard 7-messages/day cap regardless of leftover credit balance. No card required; still allows deploy, Design Mode, and GitHub sync.
Free (Hobby) and Team users are opted in to AI training by default, with a self-serve opt-out in settings. Business users are opted out by default; Enterprise data is never used for training.
Lovable
A browser-based agent generating full-stack apps from prompts, using a built-in "Lovable Cloud" backend or native Supabase, with visible/editable code, GitHub export, and one-click publish.
Non-technical founders building complete MVPs with a real backend, database, and auth — the most backend-capable of the "vibe coding" tools on this page.
No model choice — Lovable auto-selects the underlying model; it cannot import an existing GitHub repo to start a project; per-message credit cost is unpredictable and varies by task complexity.
No card required. 5 daily credits, capped at 30/month total; unused daily credits do not roll over.
On Free/Pro, code and prompts may be used for training by default; opting out requires manually contacting support rather than a self-serve toggle. Business/Enterprise get a self-serve opt-out. Raw personal data is never used for training on any tier.
Bolt.new
Prompt-driven full-stack app generation running entirely in-browser via StackBlitz's WebContainers — an in-browser Node.js runtime, not a remote cloud VM — with direct hosting and deployment.
Genuinely instant, zero-setup, fully in-browser development — the only tool here that runs the actual app runtime client-side rather than on a remote server.
Token cost scales with codebase size, since larger projects cost more tokens per message just to sync file state — Bolt's own docs acknowledge this as a known pain point.
1,000,000 tokens/month, capped at 300,000 tokens/day; a 10MB upload limit; Bolt branding shown on published sites. Its own FAQ describes the free tier as "best suited for learning and occasional use."
Prompts and code may be used to improve AI performance via aggregated/de-identified data; opt-out availability depends on account type or plan, without a clearly documented free-tier opt-out mechanism — a genuine transparency gap worth knowing about.
Codex
OpenAI's agentic coding system spanning a terminal CLI, IDE extension (VS Code/Cursor/Windsurf), a cloud/async mode for longer jobs, a GitHub integration that auto-reviews PRs, and a GitHub Action/SDK for CI/CD.
Developers who want one coding agent available everywhere — terminal, editor, GitHub, and CI — with a two-layer sandbox (filesystem/network + approval policy) controlling what it's allowed to touch.
No single published context-window figure (varies by underlying model); no exact numeric rate limits — only qualitative plan descriptions like "a few sessions a week." Some VS Code users report the sandbox blocking network access even with full-access mode enabled.
Included at no extra cost on ChatGPT Free, Go, Plus, Pro, Business, Edu, and Enterprise, but OpenAI publishes no exact usage-count figure — only qualitative descriptions ("a few focused sessions," "a full workweek" on Pro).
API and Business/Enterprise/Edu data is not used for training by default. Consumer Free/Plus/Pro conversations are used for training unless you opt out in Settings → Data Controls.
Claude Code
Anthropic's agentic coding tool that reads a codebase, edits files, runs terminal commands, and ships code via natural language — across terminal, VS Code, JetBrains, desktop app, browser, and Slack.
Codebase onboarding/explanation, multi-file refactors, turning GitHub/GitLab issues into PRs, and terminal-integrated debugging for engineering teams.
Requires a paid Claude plan — not included on Free. No exact numeric usage quota published for any tier, only relative multipliers ("5x," "20x" of Pro usage). Session transcripts cache in plaintext locally for 30 days by default.
None. Claude Code requires Pro ($17-20/mo) or above — Anthropic's own pricing page does not list it under the Free plan's features.
Consumer accounts: trained on only if "Help improve Claude" is on (5-year retention if on, 30 days if off), opt-out available. Team/Enterprise: not used for training by default, Zero Data Retention available for qualifying orgs.
Windsurf
An AI-native code editor (VS Code fork) with agentic assistant "Cascade," predictive Tab autocomplete, an Agent Command Center unifying local (Cascade) and cloud (Devin) sessions, and MCP integrations.
In-editor agentic coding for individuals, and large-codebase velocity for teams who want local and cloud-agent sessions managed from one place.
Free tier is capped to vague "Light" usage with no published exact quota. Enterprise self-hosted tier drops some Editor/Cascade features for data isolation.
$0/month, "Light" usage that "refreshes daily & weekly" — exact numeric quota not publicly specified.
Prompts/outputs used to train/improve models by default on individual tiers. Zero Data Retention is default for Teams/Enterprise but opt-in for individuals/Free. SOC 2 Type II and HIPAA BAA available.
Cline
An open-source (Apache-2.0) agentic coding assistant — primarily a VS Code extension, also a JetBrains plugin, CLI, and Node SDK — that reads/edits across files, runs terminal commands, browses the web, and supports Plan/Act modes with per-step approval.
Teams wanting a model-agnostic, self-hostable, no-vendor-lock-in agent — bring your own API key for any model provider.
Cost scales entirely with your own API usage; free models (e.g. Gemini) hit frequent rate limits. JetBrains plugin is closed-source. Requires human approval per action unless auto-approve is enabled.
The extension itself is entirely free and open-source — you only pay your model provider directly (bring-your-own-key) or Cline's pay-as-you-go hosted credits; no specific free hosted-credit amount is published.
Processing happens locally; your code/prompts go directly to whichever model provider you configure, not through Cline's servers, unless you use hosted credits. Optional anonymous telemetry excludes code and conversation content.
Base44
An AI no-code app builder — natural language to a fully functioning app with built-in database, authentication, hosting, and integrations (LLMs, file upload, image gen, email/SMS, calendar, Slack, CRM). Acquired by Wix in June 2025 for ~$80M plus earn-outs.
Non-developers building internal tools, customer portals, or back-office apps without touching code.
Backend service is explicitly labeled "beta." Trial/free credits are granted at Base44's "sole discretion" and can be changed at any time per its Terms of Service. Hitting monthly limits blocks all further messages until the next billing cycle.
$0/month — 25 message credits/month (capped at 5/day), 100 integration credits/month, core features (auth, database, analytics), no card required.
SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 certified, with a GDPR Data Processing Addendum. No official statement confirms or denies whether prompts/app content train Base44's underlying models — a genuine unpublished gap.
Devin
An autonomous AI software engineer with its own terminal, editor, and browser running in a sandboxed cloud VM — writes, runs, and tests code independently rather than completing inline suggestions.
Parallelized backlog tickets, migrations, refactors, and PR review/tests/docs — Cognition's own framing: "if you can do it in three hours, Devin can most likely do it."
Not built for "extremely difficult tasks" per Cognition's own guidance; needs clear, verifiable success criteria (tests/CI) to work well; confined to its sandboxed VM.
$0, "Light quota," limited model availability, unlimited inline edits/Tab completions — exact quota not publicly specified.
Cognition's privacy policy states User Content may be used "to train, fine tune and improve" models depending on tier terms — no clear self-serve opt-out toggle is documented; Enterprise gets a separate DPA.
Antigravity
An agentic development platform (not just an editor) with an Editor View and a Manager Surface for spawning and orchestrating multiple autonomous agents across editor, terminal, and browser, producing verifiable "Artifacts." Launched alongside Gemini 3, November 2025.
Delegating complex, multi-tool tasks end-to-end without step-by-step supervision, including long-running background work via the Manager surface.
Still labeled public preview as of this writing; no official known-issues page; unverified user reports of rate-limit lockouts on longer sessions.
"Generous rate limits" on Gemini 3 Pro plus Claude Sonnet 4.5/GPT-OSS access, free for individuals — exact numeric quota not publicly specified.
Google records prompts/content/metadata by default while the agent runs. Workspace/GCP-accessed content is excluded from prompt/content collection. A telemetry toggle exists, though some users report it doesn't clearly stop training use.
Jules
An asynchronous autonomous coding agent that clones a GitHub repo into an isolated cloud VM, plans a task, executes it, and returns a diff/PR for review — built on Gemini models.
Delegate-and-walk-away chores — bug fixes, dependency bumps, test writing — rather than real-time pair programming.
Cannot run long-lived processes (no dev servers/watch scripts); best support limited to JS/TS, Python, Go, Java, Rust; paid plans are currently individual-account only, no Workspace/enterprise purchase path yet.
15 tasks/day, 3 concurrent tasks, Gemini 2.5 Pro, $0 — one of the few tools on this page with an exact published free-tier number.
Explicitly states it does not train on private repository content; private by default, data isolated within the execution environment.
Now — the AI tools for generating images.
Midjourney, ChatGPT/DALL-E, Gemini, Adobe Firefly, and Leonardo.ai compared.