Home / Tools / Coding
Tools · 7 of 10

Best AI-first tools for building software

Fourteen AI-first coding tools compared, with real free-tier limits — including the ones that are genuinely opaque about their own numbers, called out as such.

Coding tools compared

Anysphere

Cursor

What it does

A full VS Code fork (not a plug-in), with "Tab" predictive multi-edit completion and an "Agent" mode for autonomous multi-file coding and terminal tasks. "Cloud Agents" run remotely in parallel.

Best use case

Full-codebase semantic search paired with autonomous coding agents, for end-to-end feature building inside a familiar VS Code-like editor.

Limitations

Since June 2025, billing moved from fixed request counts to usage-based/API-cost pricing — a shift confusing enough that Cursor issued refunds and a clarifying blog post. Bringing your own API key disables their Zero Data Retention guarantee.

Free tier ("Hobby")

No credit card required, but Cursor does not publish exact numeric caps — only "limited Agent requests" and "limited Tab completions." This vagueness is worth knowing going in.

Privacy

Privacy Mode is opt-in, off by default. Without it, Cursor "may use and store data... to train our models." With it on: no training, zero data retention with model providers. SOC 2 Type II available on request.

GitHub / Microsoft

GitHub Copilot

What it does

A VS Code/JetBrains extension (not a fork) with inline completions, a chat/agent panel, a standalone agentic Copilot CLI, and a "coding agent" that takes an assigned GitHub Issue and autonomously opens a pull request.

Best use case

Native Issue-to-PR autonomous agent workflow tied directly into GitHub's repo, Actions, and review pipeline — the deepest git-native integration of any tool here.

Limitations

As of June 2026, GitHub moved from premium-request-unit billing to token-based "AI Credits" at per-model API rates. No published context-window figure.

Free tier

Launched with 2,000 completions/month plus 50 chat messages/month, no card required, choice of Claude 3.5 Sonnet or GPT-4o. The current chat/agent "AI Credits" allowance for free users is not clearly republished as of this writing.

Privacy

Since a March 25, 2026 policy update, Free/Pro/Pro+ user data — inputs, outputs, and code context — is used for model training by default unless you opt out at github.com/settings/copilot → Privacy. Business and Enterprise are contractually excluded.

Replit

Replit

What it does

A browser-based cloud IDE with an integrated autonomous "Agent" that writes, runs, and deploys full-stack apps from a prompt, with a built-in database and hosting — no separate deploy step required.

Best use case

True "idea to deployed app" in one browser tab for non-experts — nothing else on this page bundles generation, database, and hosting this tightly.

Limitations

Replit itself describes Agent behavior as "probabilistic" — mistakes and re-runs burn more credits. Once monthly credits run out, billing falls back to pay-as-you-go. Hosting is Replit-native, a real form of lock-in unless you export your code.

Free tier ("Starter")

No card required, includes an undisclosed amount of daily Agent credits and a built-in database, but you can publish only 1 project.

Privacy

Free-tier requests may route through endpoints where training could be enabled by default; paid/commercial customers are covered by an agreement stating Replit won't train on customer content except as permitted. Enterprise gets Zero Data Retention endpoints.

Vercel

v0

What it does

A chat-based generator for full-stack React/Next.js UI and apps (Tailwind, shadcn/ui), with a visual "Design Mode," one-click Vercel deploy, and GitHub sync.

Best use case

The fastest, most polished path from prompt to production-ready React/Next.js components, especially for teams already deploying on Vercel.

Limitations

Token-metered pricing makes cost unpredictable for complex builds; the tight coupling to Vercel favors that hosting platform specifically.

Free tier (confirmed)

$5 in included monthly credits, but a hard 7-messages/day cap regardless of leftover credit balance. No card required; still allows deploy, Design Mode, and GitHub sync.

Privacy

Free (Hobby) and Team users are opted in to AI training by default, with a self-serve opt-out in settings. Business users are opted out by default; Enterprise data is never used for training.

Lovable

Lovable

What it does

A browser-based agent generating full-stack apps from prompts, using a built-in "Lovable Cloud" backend or native Supabase, with visible/editable code, GitHub export, and one-click publish.

Best use case

Non-technical founders building complete MVPs with a real backend, database, and auth — the most backend-capable of the "vibe coding" tools on this page.

Limitations

No model choice — Lovable auto-selects the underlying model; it cannot import an existing GitHub repo to start a project; per-message credit cost is unpredictable and varies by task complexity.

Free tier (confirmed)

No card required. 5 daily credits, capped at 30/month total; unused daily credits do not roll over.

Privacy

On Free/Pro, code and prompts may be used for training by default; opting out requires manually contacting support rather than a self-serve toggle. Business/Enterprise get a self-serve opt-out. Raw personal data is never used for training on any tier.

StackBlitz

Bolt.new

What it does

Prompt-driven full-stack app generation running entirely in-browser via StackBlitz's WebContainers — an in-browser Node.js runtime, not a remote cloud VM — with direct hosting and deployment.

Best use case

Genuinely instant, zero-setup, fully in-browser development — the only tool here that runs the actual app runtime client-side rather than on a remote server.

Limitations

Token cost scales with codebase size, since larger projects cost more tokens per message just to sync file state — Bolt's own docs acknowledge this as a known pain point.

Free tier (confirmed)

1,000,000 tokens/month, capped at 300,000 tokens/day; a 10MB upload limit; Bolt branding shown on published sites. Its own FAQ describes the free tier as "best suited for learning and occasional use."

Privacy

Prompts and code may be used to improve AI performance via aggregated/de-identified data; opt-out availability depends on account type or plan, without a clearly documented free-tier opt-out mechanism — a genuine transparency gap worth knowing about.

OpenAI

Codex

What it does

OpenAI's agentic coding system spanning a terminal CLI, IDE extension (VS Code/Cursor/Windsurf), a cloud/async mode for longer jobs, a GitHub integration that auto-reviews PRs, and a GitHub Action/SDK for CI/CD.

Best use case

Developers who want one coding agent available everywhere — terminal, editor, GitHub, and CI — with a two-layer sandbox (filesystem/network + approval policy) controlling what it's allowed to touch.

Limitations

No single published context-window figure (varies by underlying model); no exact numeric rate limits — only qualitative plan descriptions like "a few sessions a week." Some VS Code users report the sandbox blocking network access even with full-access mode enabled.

Free tier

Included at no extra cost on ChatGPT Free, Go, Plus, Pro, Business, Edu, and Enterprise, but OpenAI publishes no exact usage-count figure — only qualitative descriptions ("a few focused sessions," "a full workweek" on Pro).

Privacy

API and Business/Enterprise/Edu data is not used for training by default. Consumer Free/Plus/Pro conversations are used for training unless you opt out in Settings → Data Controls.

Anthropic

Claude Code

What it does

Anthropic's agentic coding tool that reads a codebase, edits files, runs terminal commands, and ships code via natural language — across terminal, VS Code, JetBrains, desktop app, browser, and Slack.

Best use case

Codebase onboarding/explanation, multi-file refactors, turning GitHub/GitLab issues into PRs, and terminal-integrated debugging for engineering teams.

Limitations

Requires a paid Claude plan — not included on Free. No exact numeric usage quota published for any tier, only relative multipliers ("5x," "20x" of Pro usage). Session transcripts cache in plaintext locally for 30 days by default.

Free tier

None. Claude Code requires Pro ($17-20/mo) or above — Anthropic's own pricing page does not list it under the Free plan's features.

Privacy

Consumer accounts: trained on only if "Help improve Claude" is on (5-year retention if on, 30 days if off), opt-out available. Team/Enterprise: not used for training by default, Zero Data Retention available for qualifying orgs.

Cognition

Windsurf

What it does

An AI-native code editor (VS Code fork) with agentic assistant "Cascade," predictive Tab autocomplete, an Agent Command Center unifying local (Cascade) and cloud (Devin) sessions, and MCP integrations.

Best use case

In-editor agentic coding for individuals, and large-codebase velocity for teams who want local and cloud-agent sessions managed from one place.

Limitations

Free tier is capped to vague "Light" usage with no published exact quota. Enterprise self-hosted tier drops some Editor/Cascade features for data isolation.

Free tier

$0/month, "Light" usage that "refreshes daily & weekly" — exact numeric quota not publicly specified.

Privacy

Prompts/outputs used to train/improve models by default on individual tiers. Zero Data Retention is default for Teams/Enterprise but opt-in for individuals/Free. SOC 2 Type II and HIPAA BAA available.

Cline Bot Inc.

Cline

What it does

An open-source (Apache-2.0) agentic coding assistant — primarily a VS Code extension, also a JetBrains plugin, CLI, and Node SDK — that reads/edits across files, runs terminal commands, browses the web, and supports Plan/Act modes with per-step approval.

Best use case

Teams wanting a model-agnostic, self-hostable, no-vendor-lock-in agent — bring your own API key for any model provider.

Limitations

Cost scales entirely with your own API usage; free models (e.g. Gemini) hit frequent rate limits. JetBrains plugin is closed-source. Requires human approval per action unless auto-approve is enabled.

Free tier

The extension itself is entirely free and open-source — you only pay your model provider directly (bring-your-own-key) or Cline's pay-as-you-go hosted credits; no specific free hosted-credit amount is published.

Privacy

Processing happens locally; your code/prompts go directly to whichever model provider you configure, not through Cline's servers, unless you use hosted credits. Optional anonymous telemetry excludes code and conversation content.

Base44 (Wix)

Base44

What it does

An AI no-code app builder — natural language to a fully functioning app with built-in database, authentication, hosting, and integrations (LLMs, file upload, image gen, email/SMS, calendar, Slack, CRM). Acquired by Wix in June 2025 for ~$80M plus earn-outs.

Best use case

Non-developers building internal tools, customer portals, or back-office apps without touching code.

Limitations

Backend service is explicitly labeled "beta." Trial/free credits are granted at Base44's "sole discretion" and can be changed at any time per its Terms of Service. Hitting monthly limits blocks all further messages until the next billing cycle.

Free tier (confirmed)

$0/month — 25 message credits/month (capped at 5/day), 100 integration credits/month, core features (auth, database, analytics), no card required.

Privacy

SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 certified, with a GDPR Data Processing Addendum. No official statement confirms or denies whether prompts/app content train Base44's underlying models — a genuine unpublished gap.

Cognition

Devin

What it does

An autonomous AI software engineer with its own terminal, editor, and browser running in a sandboxed cloud VM — writes, runs, and tests code independently rather than completing inline suggestions.

Best use case

Parallelized backlog tickets, migrations, refactors, and PR review/tests/docs — Cognition's own framing: "if you can do it in three hours, Devin can most likely do it."

Limitations

Not built for "extremely difficult tasks" per Cognition's own guidance; needs clear, verifiable success criteria (tests/CI) to work well; confined to its sandboxed VM.

Free tier

$0, "Light quota," limited model availability, unlimited inline edits/Tab completions — exact quota not publicly specified.

Privacy

Cognition's privacy policy states User Content may be used "to train, fine tune and improve" models depending on tier terms — no clear self-serve opt-out toggle is documented; Enterprise gets a separate DPA.

Google

Antigravity

What it does

An agentic development platform (not just an editor) with an Editor View and a Manager Surface for spawning and orchestrating multiple autonomous agents across editor, terminal, and browser, producing verifiable "Artifacts." Launched alongside Gemini 3, November 2025.

Best use case

Delegating complex, multi-tool tasks end-to-end without step-by-step supervision, including long-running background work via the Manager surface.

Limitations

Still labeled public preview as of this writing; no official known-issues page; unverified user reports of rate-limit lockouts on longer sessions.

Free tier

"Generous rate limits" on Gemini 3 Pro plus Claude Sonnet 4.5/GPT-OSS access, free for individuals — exact numeric quota not publicly specified.

Privacy

Google records prompts/content/metadata by default while the agent runs. Workspace/GCP-accessed content is excluded from prompt/content collection. A telemetry toggle exists, though some users report it doesn't clearly stop training use.

Google Labs

Jules

What it does

An asynchronous autonomous coding agent that clones a GitHub repo into an isolated cloud VM, plans a task, executes it, and returns a diff/PR for review — built on Gemini models.

Best use case

Delegate-and-walk-away chores — bug fixes, dependency bumps, test writing — rather than real-time pair programming.

Limitations

Cannot run long-lived processes (no dev servers/watch scripts); best support limited to JS/TS, Python, Go, Java, Rust; paid plans are currently individual-account only, no Workspace/enterprise purchase path yet.

Free tier (confirmed)

15 tasks/day, 3 concurrent tasks, Gemini 2.5 Pro, $0 — one of the few tools on this page with an exact published free-tier number.

Privacy

Explicitly states it does not train on private repository content; private by default, data isolated within the execution environment.

Flagged during research, not smoothed over: Cursor, Replit, GitHub Copilot, Codex, Windsurf, Devin, and Google Antigravity do not publish exact numeric free-tier caps as of this writing — only qualitative descriptions like "limited" or "a few sessions a week." Lovable, Bolt, v0, Base44, and Google Jules do publish exact numbers, which is itself worth noting as a real difference in transparency across these fourteen products. Claude Code has no free tier at all — it requires a paid Claude plan. All of these have changed pricing or free-tier terms materially within the past 12-18 months — re-verify before relying on any figure here.
Next: Image tools

Now — the AI tools for generating images.

Midjourney, ChatGPT/DALL-E, Gemini, Adobe Firefly, and Leonardo.ai compared.

Continue →